Should teachers do house calls?

If  a student has a high absenteeism rate ie 50%, is it the schools responsibility to arrange to visit caregivers at home? Some people believe it is. When this was suggested to me the other day as a supposition ie would you accompany me to see a student at home?  my answer was NO. This seemed to surprise some.

As I see it this is a step too far, I am a teacher who may give some pastoral care at school as a secondary component of my role (I see actual teaching as my primary role) but this does not extend outside the school grounds.

In my view (stated) this is the role of, one or a combination of the following:

  1. Truancy services,
  2. Welfare services, or
  3. Police

Am I being unreasonable?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

