RealMe got something right…but

realme

I had occasion to use RealMe (formally i-govt) recently. RealMe is an all of government authentication system. I am obliged to use it once every year or two. I dreaded the inevitable process of having to request my password reset – usually forgotten as a consequence of mandatory change each year. Imagine my surprise when not only did I recall my password but I was advised that I could retain it indefinitely merely by agreeing that it could roll over a further year (one mouse click). Well done, common sense has arrived in the land of RealMe.

BUT, I have to ask the question… Why do we have a similar regime for the Education Sector? As I recall RealMe/i-govt and the Education Sector Authentication and Authorization systems were expected to be integrated. Maybe something the Taxpayers Union could look into?

Capture

Disclosure: I was the overseeing Manager at State Services Commission of the initial business case for an all of government authentication system. This led to a project that culminated in both authentication standards and the initial version of igovt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

