Disappointing – who would want to referee?

I have been coaching (more like managing) a football team for the 5th year now. It’s usually quite a lot of fun and given they are second teams not super serious. We had out last game today, just a second division  playoff for 5th and 6th position. Unfortunately our usual parent was too sick to referee so it was left up to me… Conditions were good but unfortunately there were no lines people and both teams were wearing similar jerseys.

My team scored 5 minutes into the second half, I signaled a goal. However, the other coach considered it off side. Then can the tirade of abuse and harassment over the next 5 minutes. Emboldened by their coach the opposition players got quite lippy at any opportunity. At one stage I told the offending players to stop the back chat or I would send them off. I also considered calling off the game given the bullshit from the opposition coach. As I explained to deaf ears at the end of the game I am a volunteer, I can only call what I see, I don’t cheat and ultimately who cares about the result. It may have been off side but not from my perspective… and we don’t have replays…

I see why volunteers can not be bothered getting involved – I think after today I won’t be.

Footnote: I just received the following email from a student: “Thanks for putting in so much effort and dedicating your spare time to coaching us this year. Sorry our team wasn’t as organised or dedicated as we’ve been in previous years. Also, it was totally out of line for the other team’s coach to yell like that today…Anyways, thanks again!

What a poor example the opposition coach set for his own team, my team and the spectators. No matter what the perceived injustice in a football game, when the result doesn’t even matter, there is no excuse for the behavior displayed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

